Turkey stir-fry

I have already explained my love for turkey in a previous post, and I’m a big fan of stir-fries, so the two together are perfect.  The quantities I’ve listed make a HUGE portion, so you may want to reduce them down!  I made this so big because I have a tonne of vegetables in my fridge that were going off and I hate wasting food.  This is another reason why I love stir-fries, they’re so versatile that they are the best for using up food that’s going off.

Serves 7

What you’ll need:

  • 450 g turkey, diced
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 aubergine, chopped
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 2 large field mushrooms, sliced
  • 170 g green beans, chopped
  • 170 g sugar snap peas
  • 170 g mini sweetcorn, chopped
  • 7 x 150 g portions of noodles, either buy straight to wok ones or boil them in advance as per the cooking instructions

Method:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a pan over a medium heat with the honey and the soy sauce
  2. Add the onion and soften for 5 min then add the turkey and cook until browned all over
  3. Add in the carrots, broccoli, peppers and aubergine and stir through the sauce.  Cook for 5 min
  4. Add in the rest of the vegetables and cook until cooked through.  Doing this on a lower  heat for longer creates a better flavour.  As I had so much in my pan, I added some water and put a lid on the top so that my vegetables steamed themselves.  When almost cooked, I removed the lid to let the excess liquid evaporate
  5. Add in the noodles and cook through for about 3 min, until thoroughly heated

Substitutions:

  • If you’re feeling lazy, you can buy ready-prepared stir-fry vegetables in most supermarkets.  You can use these as they are, or add in extra vegetables.  Please don’t be tempted by the range of pre-prepared sauces on offer, as these contain so much extra stuff you really don’t need in your diet!
  • Almost any vegetables/meat/meat-substitute can be used in this stir-fry so test some out an find what works for you
  • If you want to use fish rather than meat, I recommend adding in oyster or fish sauce as well as the soy sauce and honey

signature

One thought on “Turkey stir-fry

Leave a Reply

